person dropping paper on box

North Jersey Congressional Primary Slate Set

The names appearing on the ballot for New Jersey’s congressional primaries are finalized.

Of the six congressional offices in North Jersey appearing on the ballot June 2, only Rep. Mikie Sherrill will not face a primary challenge. In New Jersey’s 11th congressional district. Sherrill will be challenged in the general election by Republican Rosemary Becchi, who is running unopposed as well in the primary.

5th District

In the 5th, Rep. Josh Gottheimer will be opposed by Democrat Arati Kreibich, a councilwoman from Glen Rock. Five Republicans filed to run for that seat, including former Cresskill Councilman John McCann, Montvale Mayor Michael Ghassali, investment banker Frank Pallotta, Hector Castillo and James Baldini.

8th District

Rep. Albio Sires (D-8) is being challenged by two candidates in his district. Union City resident Hector Oseguera and Will Sheehan of Bayonne submitted signatures to challenge the 14 year member of the house. Meanwhile, Jason Mushnick was the only Republican to file paperwork for the primary.

9th District

Like Sires, veteran lawmaker Rep. Bill Pascrell will encounter two primary challengers on June 2. Papers for the Democratic nomination in the 9th district were submitted by Tenafly resident Zina Spezakis and Alp Basaran of Fort Lee. 

Two Republicans will vie for the seat, as Ramsey resident Timothy Walsh will face off against Paterson native Billy Prepeh in the primary.

10th District

In one of the most reliable Democratic districts in the state, Rep. Donald Payne Jr. (D-10) will be on the primary ballot with three other candidates from his party. John Flora, Rutgers law professor Eugene Mazo and Akil Khalfani will attempt to unseat the five term congressman. 

Republicans Jennifer Zinone and Michael Barrett submitted their nominating petitions to be on the ballot June 2 for the seat in the 10th Congressional District.


For the Senate seat to be defended by Cory Booker, he will face off with Lawrence Hamm, chairman of Sen. Bernie Sanders’ New Jersey presidential campaign, in seeking the Democratic line in November.

GOP candidates vying for that party’s nomination include Morris County resident Rik Mehta, Natalie Rivera, Hirsh Singh and Tricia Flanagan.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.