Mehta, Draeger Continue to Lead in 25th Legislative Races Over GOP Incumbents

Democrats are winning the only special election for State senate and Assembly in New Jersey held this year.

With just under 50% of ballots counted in Morris County, Democrat Rupande Mehta currently leads incumbent State Sen. Anthony M. Bucco (R-25) by 426, down from 821 votes the day before, for the remainder of the late State Sen. Anthony R. Bucco’s term, as of 4 p.m. Nov. 5. 

In the race for the unexpired Assembly term created by Bucco going to the Senate, Darcy Draeger leads Assemblywoman Aura Dunn (R-25) by 2,001, down from 2,334 votes.

Bucco Experience

Bucco portrayed himself during the campaign as an experienced legislator that has worked both sides of the aisle, first in the Assembly then in the last year in the State Senate. He promoted his work as a bipartisan leader with a record of passing common sense laws as well as the ability to work with Rep. Mickie Sherrill and State Sen. Richard Codey (D-27) to secure COVID-19 relief money from the federal government. 

In his bid to be elected to the seat he was appointed to after the passing of his father, Bucco characterized himself as a needed check on Democrats “as it makes for better government. I have stood up for constituents of the 25th. This is not the time for on the job training.”

Mehta Change

Mehta, a resident of Denville, campaigned saying a new leader was needed in the district. Bucco in his ten years in Trenton “has prioritized politics over the residents of the 25th district. I believe I will avoid the bad decisions based on political calculations that lead to slashing women’s healthcare and critical assistance to small businesses.”

The results for Bernardsville, the only Somerset County municipality in the 25th, remains unchanged.

Blue Morris County

The election comes as Morris County continues to trend as a blue county. Joe Biden is outpolling President Donald Trump by 16 points in the county. In the House Race for the 11th Congressional District made up largely of Morris County, Rep. Mikie Sherrill is up by about 14,000 votes.

Democrat Cary Amaro is ahead by 8,080 votes in the race for Morris County freeholder against  Republican incumbent Tayfun Selen.

Democrats have not won a countywide election in Morris County since 1973.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.